Asia Cup schedule announced, India to face Pakistan on Feb 27


The news that India and Pakistan series won't take place was a dampener for their fans last year, but they don’t have to wait much to see both the sides competing against each other.

The mother of all battles – an India-Pakistan clash -- will take place in Mirpur, Bangladesh, on February 27 at the Asia Cup, which will be in its new avatar as a T20 tournament.

India and Pakistan will face each other at least twice in a T20I between February and April. They take on each other in the first stage of the Asia Cup and will also clash in the group stage in the World T20 2016.

The schedule of the tournament, which will begin on February 24, will see India take on hosts Bangladesh in its opener. While India will play Pakistan in their second match, their third match is slated for March 1 against Sri Lanka.

India’s fourth and last league match will be held on March 3 and the opponents are yet to be decided. Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Oman and United Arab Emirates will take on each other in the qualifying stage and the topper will proceed to the next stage.

The final is scheduled for March 6. All the matches will be played at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur. India last played against Pakistan in the World Cup in Australia last year.

India and Sri Lanka have won the Asia Cup for the highest number of times. Both the teams have lifted the trophy five times while Pakistan have won it two times. (N24India)

Asia Cup Schedule

Feb 24
India v Bangladesh

Feb 25 Sri Lanka v TBD

Feb 26 Bangladesh v TBD

Feb 27 India v Pakistan

Feb 28
Bangladesh v Sri Lanka

Feb 29 Pakistan v TBD

Mar 1 India v Sri Lanka

Mar 2 Bangladesh v Pakistan

Mar 3 India v TBD

Mar 4 Pakistan v Sri Lanka

Mar 6 Final